To enter Côte d'Ivoire, any foreigner must hold a valid national passport, laissez-passer or travel document bearing at least a photograph of the holder, on which a biometric entry visa has been previously lodged. Visa application forms are available free of charge at the Embassies of Côte d'Ivoire in your country of residence, or online at

The biometric entry visa to Côte d'Ivoire is :

- Either an ordinary visa affixed to the ordinary passport,
- Either an official visa affixed to the diplomatic, service or official passport.

However, whether it is ordinary or official, the biometric entry visa depends on the length of the stay :

- The transit visa may not exceed three (03) days ;
- The short stay visa may not exceed three (03) months ;
- The long-stay visa may not exceed one (01) year.

List of countries without visas

Nationals of the following countries holding ordinary or official passports are not subject to the visa requirement.
It is a question of :

• ECOWAS Member Country

Benin - Burkina Faso - Cape Verde - Gambia - Ghana - Guinea - Bissau - Liberia - Mali - Niger - Nigeria - Senegal - Sierra Leone - Togo.

• Other Countries

Central African Republic - Republic of Congo (Brazzaville) - Mauritania - Morocco - Seychelles Islands - Singapore - Chad - Tunisia - Philippines

Obtaining a biometric visa

To obtain a biometric entry visa to Côte d'Ivoire, two options are available :

Obtain a biometric visa at Côte d'Ivoire's diplomatic and consular representations in your country

The nationals of the countries below holding ordinary or official passports are subject to the visa requirement issued by the Diplomatic and Consular Representatives of Côte d'Ivoire abroad, without prior consultation with the Minister in charge of Security.

Visa application forms are available free of charge from the Embassies of Côte d'Ivoire in your country of residence.

  • South Africa (ordinary passport), Germany, Algeria, Andorra, Austria (ordinary passport), Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan,
  • Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bosnia, Botswana, Brazil (ordinary passport, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi,
  • Caymans (Islands), Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Comoros (Islands), South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia,
  • Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica (Republic),
  • Ecuador, United Arab Emirates, Spain, Estonia, United States of America, Ethiopia, Eritrea,
  • Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon (ordinary passport),
  • Georgia, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana,
  • Haiti, Honduras, Hungary,
  • India, Ireland, Italy, Israel (ordinary passport),
  • Jamaica, Japan,
  • Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait,
  • Luxembourg, Lesotho, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania,
  • Macedonia, Montenegro, Macao, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius (Islands), Mexico, Maladive, Monaco, Mozambique, Outer Mongolia,
  • Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway,
  • Oman, Uganda (ordinary passport), Uzbekistan,
  • Panama, Papua, Paraguay, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Portugal,
  • Qatar,
  • Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Czech Republic, Romania, United Kingdom of Great Britain, Russia (Federation),
  • Sainte kits and Nevis, Sainte Lucie, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent, Solomon Islands, El Salvador, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Sweden, Switzerland, Suriname, Swaziland,
  • Tajikistan, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Tuvalu,
  • Ukraine, Uruguay,
  • Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela.
  • Yugoslavia,
  • Zambia, Zimbabwe,

Obtain a biometric E-visa

The electronic visa is obtained online on the website according to the following procedures selon les procédures suivantes :

Step 1: Pre-enrolment and Payment

Pre-registration consists of recording certain personal information and downloading 3 documents:

  • The identity page of the passport;
  • Booking the flight ticket;
  • The invitation letter or accommodation certificate.

After pre-enrolment, the applicant pays the fee for the Visa, which is valid for 3 months (multiple entries).

Cost : 73 Euros (including bank charges).

Method of payment :

  • Payment is made with a VISA CARD or MASTERCARD. When payment is made, the applicant receives an instant email, (accompanied by an attachment with the unique and personal payment certificate code) N.B.: Cases of non pre-enrolment online are exceptional and are the responsibility of the Direction de la Surveillance du Territoire (D.S.T).
  • Payment can also be made in cash by payment via Western Union at the points of sale. This option is only available in some countries. Please check on Please also note that this payment method requires a longer delay in receiving the certificate.
  • Other payment methods can be used: International transfers (SWIFT) and the International Postal Order.

Step 2: Receipt of the DST response

The applicant receives a document (with a bar code) that is the authority's response (approved or refused) to his or her e-mail address within 48 working days.

Step 3: Enrolment at the airport

The applicant embarks with the "Pre-registration approved" document and arrives at the airport in the "Airport Visa" area. He or she completes his or her biometric enrolment there and the visa is printed and issued immediately. The E-visa enrolment boxes are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

The summary list of documents to be presented at Felix Houphouët Boigny Airport in Abidjan upon your arrival are :

  • The original receipt of payment of the visa fee 73 Euros including bank charges
  • The approval of the D.S.T. (pre-visa or laissez-débarquer) ;
  • The passport valid for at least six months;
  • The international certificate of vaccination against yellow fever.

Important :

  • Enrolment (fingerprinting and photography) is mandatory for each visa application, even if the applicant has already obtained several visas.
  • The biometric visa requires the presence of the applicant. Imprints are mandatory for all except minors under 12 years of age, but their presence is necessary.
  • The online application of the E-visa does not entitle you to a visa. Your request may be accepted or refused by the Authority and there is no refund.
  • The yellow fever vaccine is mandatory for entry and stay in the country. A check of the vaccination certificate is carried out on arrival in Côte d'Ivoire.